Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 7/29/13: Conchiglie Pasta with Meaty Spinach Cream Sauce

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As summer gets into full swing, it seems I blink and Monday is here again. I often find that I’m caught off guard when it comes to planning my meals for Meatless Monday, which leads me to two conclusions: 1) I need to plan better, and 2) I need to stop procrastinating and get in the kitchen and experiment. The kitchen is where I like to pull out all the stops and get creative. Sometimes there are major successes, and every now and then there’s a failure or two. The failures, however, have never stopped me from trying.

This weeks’ Meatless Monday recipe is another pasta creation. I’ve never worked with conchiglie before, and I thought I’d give that a try. Once again, even though this is a meatless recipe, I did rely on an old favorite, the Field Roast brand vegetarian sausage, for the look and feel of meat in the dish. A healthy dose of freshly grated cheese in the cream sauce and fresh baby spinach rounded out this hodgepodge dish which I call Conchiglie Pasta with Meaty Spinach Cream Sauce. Enjoy, and have a great Meatless Monday and a wonderful and healthy week.

four forks

Conchiglie Pasta with Meaty Spinach Cream Sauce

(serves 6) 

  • 12 ozs. uncooked conchiglie
  • 2/3 cup onion, chopped
  • 12 ozs. crumbled vegetarian sausage (I used Field Roast Smoked Apple Sage)
  • 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 4 tbsp. butter, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. chopped parsley
  • 2/3 cup parmigiano-reggiano cheese, grated, plus more for finishing, if desired
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 6 ozs. baby spinach, stems removed

Prepare pasta according to package instructions.

I chose to use the Field Roast

I chose to use the Field Roast Smoked Apple vegetarian sausage in this recipe.

In a deep skillet, melt 1 tbsp. butter over medium heat. Add onion and 1 tbsp. butter until browned. Add crumbled sausage and remaining 1 tbsp. butter; cook sausage through.

Onion and crumbled sausage mixture.

Onion and crumbled sausage mixture.

In a sauce pan, combine heavy cream, 2 tbsp. butter and salt over medium-high heat. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring, until thickened (about 4-5 minutes). Stir in parsley and remove from the heat. Add grated cheese and cinnamon and stir. Lastly, add spinach and mix through.

Add cream and spinach mixture to skillet with onions and sausage; mix well. Transfer pasta to a large dish, then add the cream mixture. Mix thoroughly.

Creamy pasta and sauce

Creamy pasta and sauce

Serve in bowls and finish with additional shredded cheese, if desired.

Care to comment?

