Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 9/2/13: Caprese Pasta

Caprese Pasta

Caprese Pasta

I have a confession to make. I have been a wee bit lazy. Okay, not so much lazy as, oh, let’s call it, being economical in using energy. You see, my husband had been on the west coast all week when Meatless Monday rolled around, which left little ol’ me all alone to cook for, well, little ol’ me. Usually, I cook for two (and if you are to believe my husband, ‘cooking for two’ in my vocabulary actually involves enough food for eight…what can I say – I’m a fan of leftovers), but as I would be dining solo, I didn’t feel the need to pull out all the stops in the kitchen. Well, stops aside, I still had to eat. While today’s Meatless Monday dish isn’t replete with fancy bells and whistles, it is fairly easy to prepare and a delicious bite . . . even for one. So if you’re dining solo tonight and perhaps tomorrow as well, this is a quick fix and reheats well the day after (can we say ‘lunch’?).

Cooking for one isn’t so bad. I still haven’t mastered it, yet; hence, the “serves 4” – but isn’t that the allure of the beauty that we call leftovers? Enjoy this simple yet delicious Caprese Pasta.

four forks

Caprese Pasta

(serves 4 [or, happily, 1 … with leftovers])

  • 1/2 lb. pasta
  • 1 lb. fresh mozzarella cheese, cubed
  • 1/2 c.  extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 can (28 ozs.) crushed tomatoes with added puree
  • 1 can (12 ozs.) diced tomatoes (petite or regular), strained of juices
  • 2 tbsp. dried basil leaves (I use McCormick Mediterranean Basil Leaves)
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 c. fresh basil leaves, roughly chopped

In a large pot of salted boiling water, cook pasta according to package directions. When finished cooking, strain and set aside. In the meantime, heat olive oil in a saute pan over medium high heat. Add crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, dried basil leaves and sugar. Cook until heated through. Remove from heat. Portion pasta into bowls and pour sauce over pasta, add fresh chopped basil and top with fresh mozzarella cubes. 

The finished product....

The finished dish.

Care to comment?

