Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 9/23/13: Goat Cheese and Veggies Quesadilla

Goat Cheese and Veggies Quesadilla

Goat Cheese and Veggies Quesadilla

Well whaddaya know…it’s Monday again. Meatless Monday, to be more exact. Here’s a first for me: this week I was prepared. I knew exactly what I wanted to make (sort of), I had all of the ingredients (sort of) and I couldn’t wait to get started on this recipe (okay, that’s 100% true!). I love quesadillas, and for a few hours throughout the day I was even toying with the idea of using faux meat for this recipe. However, I soon steered myself away from that track in favor of ingredients that I could actually go and pluck from my own garden (assuming, of course, I even had a garden, which I don’t, but it’s just the thought…). While I love the bite that goat cheese brings to my mouth, I wanted to toss in a bit of texture for a quesadilla that would make my mouth pop and sing at the same time. A pretty tall order, I know, but I tried my best and I think I succeeded.

What I came up with for this week’s Meatless Monday recipe is, as my husband described it, “a keeper.” This recipe is big on flavor, a bit of twang, and a little crunch (compliments of roasted corn, which is simple to make). Ladies and gentlemen, this week I offer to you my special Goat Cheese and Veggies Quesadilla. Rumor has it, if you build it they will come. Well, build a few of these and watch the folks come running . . . and, just as fast, watch the quesadillas disappear. Enjoy!

four forks

Goat Cheese and Veggies Quesadilla

(serves 2-4)

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 red pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup roasted sweet corn kernels (see easy recipe below)
  • 6 ounces baby spinach
  • 4 8-inch whole wheat flour tortillas
  • 4 ounces semisoft goat cheese

Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion, red pepper, sugar and salt; cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are dark golden brown. Now would be a good time to begin roasting the corn, while the onions and peppers are cooking.

Next, add the spinach and roasted corn to the skillet; cook 2 minutes, or until spinach is just wilted. Remove from skillet, wipe skillet clean and turn off heat.

Spread a layer of the goat cheese on each tortilla and top with vegetables. You can either fold tortilla in half and press lightly OR top with a second tortilla coated with a layer of goat cheese.

Return prepared quesadilla(s) to heated skillet and cook on one side until golden brown and lightly crisp. Flip quesadilla and repeat. Remove quesadilla from skillet and cut into triangles. Serve immediately.

Roasted Sweet Corn (scaled down measurements for this recipe)

  • 1/4 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 1 cup frozen sweet corn kernels
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • A couple of pinches of ground black pepper

Heat oil in cast iron or nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the corn and cook 10 to 12 minutes or until corn starts to brown, stirring infrequently to allow corn to brown. Stir in remaining ingredients.

Goat Cheese and Veggies Quesadillas

…bursting with flavor

 

Care to comment?

