Follow the Crumbs ...

Today’s Foodism: The Medicinal Properties of Coffee? Really?

Dave Berry 2

At 50 years of age, I’m relatively new to the world of java. Having been converted by tastings of Starbucks Reserve coffees (it’s top of the line, folks…), I have dubbed myself Madame Coffee Snob. No, a cup of coffee is not the first thing I reach for when I wake up in the morning; you won’t see me in the coffee shop seven times a day ordering cup after cup after cup; and even though I like it, I don’t require coffee to be administered intravenously. My purposes aren’t medicinal; they’re strictly recreational. I would gladly step aside while those who suffer from ailments that can only be cured (or, at the very least, symptoms eased) through the use of coffee take my place in line. Just show me the doctors’ orders and your spot is secured.

Care to comment?

