Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 2/24/14: Asian Stir-Fry

Asian stir fry (7)I have a penchant for ethnic food that runs the gamut. While I really like Italian, French, Mediterranean and foods from the various regions of the United States (especially Southern cuisine), I’d have to say one of my favorites is Asian cuisine. On this Meatless Monday, I must boast a little and give myself a pat on the back for I achieved what I believe to be a first for me: I actually conceived this recipe idea on Sunday … a full day before Meatless Monday! That simply isn’t normal for me; I’m usually in the grocery store on the day of, around 4:00 p.m., still figuring out what I want to prepare. Please, hold your applause until the end.

The recipe that I landed on was an Asian Stir Fry. Not only did I have some semblance of what I wanted to cook, I took into account that not only would I be eating the dish, but my husband would be enjoying it also. So, as I marched around our local Stop & Shop grabbing one ingredient after another, I purchased two items that I wouldn’t normally (willingly, in the absence of duress) put in my grocery cart: broccoli and mushrooms. But what’s a stir fry without them, right? Besides, my husband loves those two vegetables, so I wanted his stomach to be pleased. Speaking of being pleased, I hope you will be as well after you try this recipe. Since this was my first time out with the recipe born off the top of my head, I took a shortcut with the stir fry sauce and used a ready-made version. The next time I make this dish, I’ll endeavor to make a sauce from scratch. Wish me luck! In the meantime, bon appetit! (You may now applaud)

four forks

Asian Stir-Fry

(serves 4)

{For best results, marinade chicken substitute in sauce before cooking. The method I used: empty frozen Quorn into a bowl; pour approximately ½ cup of stir-fry sauce over Quorn; stir to cover evenly; cover bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour)

Prepare noodles according to package directions. Set aside.

My noodles of choice

My noodles of choice

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a wok or heavy skillet on medium-high. Add peppers and onions. Cook and stir until just tender, approximately 5 minutes. Add broccoli and mushrooms; cook for additional 3 minutes. Remove vegetables from skillet and set aside (keep warm).

A wonderful array of veggies ... almost ready for the stir fry

A wonderful array of veggies … almost ready for the stir fry

Heat 1 tablespoon oil on medium-high in the wok or skillet you just used. Add the chicken substitute and the remainder of stir-fry sauce; cook, covered, for 8-9 minutes, stirring often. Return vegetables to skillet and mix well. Lastly, add snow peas and salt; mix well. Cook for 3-5 minutes but not long enough for snow peas to lose their snap.

Serve over noodles.

Asian Stir Fry

Asian Stir Fry

Care to comment?

