Follow the Crumbs ...

Personal Essay “Room For Two …” Receives a Double Dose of Accolades

If it were to be labelled a secret, it would be the worst kept one in the history of my well-lived life: I have a fondness for food.

Not only do I consider food a life sustaining force with the nutritional value that it provides, I also derive great pleasure from the many nuances that encompass food—from the most delicate of flavors to that which is bold, vibrant and exhilarating to the palate.

PART 1 OF THE STORY

Early last year, BlogHer, a media company created by women for women, embarked on a quest to explore the connection that food has to our roots. They had a strong desire to document the stories of women writers who spoke of how food was intertwined in their daily lives, their family food traditions and the history of food and cooking overall. The end result of their endeavor was an eBook titled Roots: Where Food Comes From and Where It Takes Us: A BlogHer Anthology.This ebook is published by BlogHer along with their partner, Open Road Media.

The charting of my familial path of food, Room for Two: When Old Traditions Meet New, is included in this wonderfully delicious anthology. I, along with 39 other writers, share personal essays on food, family and discovery.

PART 2 OF THE STORY

cpc

Late last year, the Connecticut Press Club, a chapter affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women, put the word out that their Annual Contest for writers would begin soon. The 14th Annual contest was open to Connecticut and New York writers. The original deadline of January 27, 2014 was extended to February 3, 2014. I made the decision to enter Room for Two: When Old Traditions Meet New in the “Books and Creative Writing: Essay, chapter or section in a book” category. Then I went about my life.

Kiddies4

This is my joy…

On Thursday, March 6, I received a note from the President of the CPC. She was contacting me to inform me that my essay had won 2nd place in the CPC writing competition!

Of the many entrants in the competition, I am thrilled to have been awarded 2nd place for my work. It underscores and puts an exclamation point on my drive and tenacity to write. Because the sky truly is the limit, I will continue to write what I hope to be great and engaging content.

If you would like to purchase a copy of BlogHer’s ebook, click on either the link or image below.

Roots: Where Food Comes From and Where It Takes Us: A BlogHer Anthology


 

2 Comments on Personal Essay “Room For Two …” Receives a Double Dose of Accolades

  1. Congratulations my lovely xxx

    Like

Care to comment?

