Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 12/15/14: Spinach and Fausage Quiche

IMG_1126

Spinach and Fausage Quiche

Parting is such sweet sorrow … at least according to William Shakespeare. While this won’t mean much to anyone else, by the time you read this I will have been back in Georgia for a week with the hopes of happily settling into my home in Marietta. Sadly, the “happily” hasn’t yet occurred. But that’s a sordid tale for another time . . .

Two weeks ago, as I sat across the table from my friend Beth at a “sorry to see you leave Connecticut and the best of luck to you in the dirty south” lunch, I pondered what I would be preparing for my Meatless Monday dinner that evening. Still clueless, I made my way to the grocery store after lunch and thought, “Quiche!” Armed with a few ingredients in my basket, I went home and plotted my next move.

With this Spinach and Fausage Quiche recipe, I decided to wing it. I had two pastry shells to fill and I wanted to make the most of them. For the fausage in the recipe, I went back to an old favorite: The Italian variety of LightLife’s Smart Sausage. Since I was going with an Italian theme, I used a 6-cheese Italian blend. Each quiche, one slightly different from the other, turned out fabulous — I baked one for use and one to share … with Beth.

This recipe worked out really well and the store-bought pie shell cut down on a lot of excess work on my part (seriously, I wasn’t being lazy, just trying to be economical with my time…). If you like quiche, I hope you’ll give this recipe  Spinach and Fausage Quiche a try. Bon appetit!

four forks

Spinach and Fausage Quiche

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

NOTE: This recipe makes enough filling for 2 quiches.

  • 12 ounces faux Italian Sausage (LightLife Smart Sausages)
  • 1 Teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 bunches of green onions, sliced, white parts only
  • 9 ounces baby spinach, stems removed
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 2 cups Italian blend cheese
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 2 Pastry Shells (I used Marie Callender’s Pastry Pie Shells)
  • 1 small tomato, thinly sliced (optional)

Preheat oven to 400°.

Cut faux sausage into 1/4-inch thick slices. In a skillet add olive oil over medium heat. Cook sausage according to package directions. Transfer to a plate to cool. In the same pan, melt the butter. Add green onions and sauté until tender, about 3 minutes. Add spinach and cook until just wilted. Remove from heat and set aside when done.

In a large bowl beat the eggs with the buttermilk, Italian seasoning and salt & pepper. Fold in cheese. Slowly mix in cooked faux sausage, then add spinach mixture.

Pour quiche filling into pie shells. If using tomatoes, place slices in a circle and one slice in the middle. [Since I made two quiches, I did one with tomatoes and one without). Bake uncovered for 30 minutes; remove from oven and cover lightly with nonstick aluminum foil and bake an additional 10-15 minutes, or until the egg is set and quiche isn’t too wiggly.

quiche collage

quiche collage 2

 

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The Top 10 Meatless Monday Recipes of 2014 |

Care to comment?

