Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 7/27/15: Orzo with Roasted Tomatoes in Creamy Lemon Sauce

orzoScape. Sounds a bit sketchy, heh? Up until two years ago, I had no idea what scapes were. Now, that I’m celebrating the 23rd-anniversary-of-my-29th-birthday, I have finally had the occasion to try garlic scapes. Yes, I think I can say with some degree of certainty that I like scapes. While wandering around the Raleigh State Farmers Market in Raleigh, NC, my husband and I happened upon a vendor selling these little beauts. My mind began to race with a myriad of thoughts: “What kind of dish can I cook with these?” “What’s the best way to prepare these?” “Will the flavor overpower everything else on the plate?” “Where’s Jimmy Hoffa?”

While I couldn’t provide a suitable answer to the latter, I didn’t waste any time purchasing a neat little bundle of scapes; I knew that sooner or later, the time would come when I would know exactly what to do with them.

Ladies and gentleman, that time has come.

pepper and scapes

For this Meatless Monday creation, I turned to orzo as a delicious base. I tossed in a little of this, a bit of that and the outcome was Orzo with Roasted Tomatoes in Creamy Lemon Sauce. I wasn’t sure if my husband or visiting 14-year old stepson would take to it. Somewhere in the back of my head I heard a little voice say, “Oh ye of little faith…”. I was wrong. Check out the last photo.

I hope you try this Orzo with Roasted Tomatoes in Creamy Lemon Sauce recipe and enjoy it as much as my husband and stepson did. Bon appetit!

four forks

Orzo with Roasted Tomatoes in Creamy Lemon Sauce

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: @90 mins
  • Difficulty: Moderate
  • Print
  • 1 pint package of grape tomatoes
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon Mediterranean Spiced Sea Salt (or your favorite blend)
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups orzo
  • 1/4 cup garlic scapes, sliced @1/4 – 1/8 inch
  • 1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • Zest of one lemon
  • 1 tablespoon flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • Lemon cream sauce (directions below)

Preheat oven to 400°.

In a casserole dish, combine tomatoes, 2 tablespoons olive oil, sea salt, vinegar and salt & pepper; coat well by tossing. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes; stir and continue to bake an additional 25-30 minutes until tomatoes are soft and slightly charred. Remove from oven and set aside.

roasted tomatoes

Prepare the orzo according to package directions.

While the orzo is cooking, in a large skillet heat remaining olive oil over medium-high setting. Add the scapes and saute for 8-10 minutes. Add the red pepper and saute an additional 4-5 minutes (until just tender). Next, add the corn and saute until heated through. Add lemon zest and parsley; cook/stir for 3-5 minutes more. Cover and remove from heat.

colorful

Prepare the lemon cream sauce (see recipe below). Fold tomatoes into skillet with vegetables. Add the cream sauce and gently mix. Serve.

Lemon Cream Sauce

  • 1 1⁄2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 lemon, zested AND juiced
  • A dash garlic powder to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1⁄2 – 3/4 cup finely shredded parmesan cheese

Heat the heavy cream in a sauce pan over medium high heat. When it begins to just boil, add the lemon zest and lemon juice and stir; the sauce will begin to thicken. Turn the heat down to low then add the garlic powder and salt. Stir for about 1 minute. Add the cheese and stir until melted.

orzo 2

the end

 

Care to comment?

