Follow the Crumbs ...

Meatless Monday Recipe for 11/9/15: Acorn Squash and Corn Soup with Brown Butter

soupAutumn. Leaves rustle in the trees. A chill filters through the air. Rainy days give way to crisp, cool mornings and sitting in front of the fireplace in the evenings. Sounds like soup weather to me. Yes, indeed.

Meatless Monday is nothing if not an opportunity to revamp recipes to suit your meatless palate. I often take the idea of adaptation in the kitchen and run with it. This recipe is no exception.

This Acorn Squash and Corn Soup with Brown Butter is adapted from a recipe I found on Serious Eats. Actually, I didn’t change it up too much, however, I did put my personal spin on it. As much as I love to create in the kitchen, this was my first time preparing acorn squash. In this recipe, I absolutely loved it. I’m fond of varying textures in my meals, so I added crunchy whole kernel corn to provide a break in the otherwise smoothness of this soup.

A nice, thick, bisque-like soup warms from the inside out. Perhaps you need to fill your belly with this goodness? Bon appetit!

four forks

Acorn Squash and Corn Soup with Brown Butter

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 60 mins
  • Difficulty: Moderate
  • Print

  • 2 medium acorn squash, halved, seeded
  • Vegetable oil
  • 10 tablespoons unsalted butter (divided)
  • 1 bunch of scallions, thinly sliced (white parts only)
  • 1 tablespoon non-fat dry milk powder
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 cup whole kernel corn
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • Chives, fresh, minced (for garnish)

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Rub the squash all over with a bit of vegetable oil. Sprinkle a little salt on the flesh and bake the squash on a sheet pan at until fully tender and the flesh is browned and caramelized. Scoop out the flesh and discard the skin.

In a skillet, melt 2 tablespoons of the butter. Sauté the scallions until translucent and fragrant. Remove from heat and set aside.

Meanwhile, melt the remaining butter in a small saucepan over very low heat. Once melted, stir in the non-fat milk powder. Allow to cook slowly, stirring occasionally, until the milk solids are dark brown and the butter has a delicious, nutty smell. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Prepare frozen corn according to package directions. Don’t overcook – you’ll cherish the textural crunch that it lends to the soup.

In a blender or food processor, puree the squash with the brown butter, lemon juice, cream, milk, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. If necessary, add a little water to loosen. Puree until the mixture is super smooth. Taste and adjust seasoning, adding salt or lemon juice as needed.

When the soup is ready to be served, transfer it to a sauce pan. Add corn, maple syrup, scallions and parsley. Reheat and dilute with a little water, if needed. (Don’t dilute it too much; it will thin as it warms up). Reheat until warmed through. When serving, garnish with the chives.

acorn squash and corn soup

soup 3

 

8 Comments on Meatless Monday Recipe for 11/9/15: Acorn Squash and Corn Soup with Brown Butter

  1. This certainly looks yummy. I love squash soups – they’re so warming and tasty. I was going to bake a butternut squash I have, but now I think I’ll play around with this. Thanks!

    Like

  2. This sounds (and looks) really good. I have not eaten an acorn squash in years. Something good to try!

    Like

  3. Sounds yummy. I’ll have to try it.

    Like

    • I was surprised that it was so good, Rebecca. I’m a first-timer acorn squash eater and I was pleasantly surprised. I think this recipe lends itself to more adaptation — add spinach, zucchini, etc. If you try it, I hope you like it.

      Like

  4. I read this. It is gray outside. It is definitely cold enough for soup 🙂 All I can think about, however, is how much I miss living in Chapel Hill 🙂

    Like

Care to comment?

